Christmas in London

After a LONG, hard first term back at university, a break over Christmas with some of my closest friends was very much needed. It’s easy to get caught up in working and trying to be your most productive self yet forgetting that it’s equally necessary to take some time out and do something you really enjoy.

img_8711

For me, nothing is more fun than visiting a new place – or at least doing something new in a fairly unfamiliar place. I’ve visited London before but of course it’s so large that it’s impossible to see all of it. So, over the holidays, I went on a short trip to London for a few days, to catch up with friends and get myself in the Christmas spirit.

 

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I was told that I wasn’t allowed to do anything ‘too touristy’, given that the friends I was visiting are all Londoners who were sick of showing people the Houses of Parliament and gawping over the ice rink at Somerset House when they’d done it a million times before.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

So, we decided to do some things in between – visit their favourite places near them to get brunch, go on scenic walks and have a few drinks at the pub. I was even allowed one hall pass to do something really ‘naff’ and ‘touristy’, which meant that we went to Winter Wonderland at Hyde Park. Who knew a knock-off Bavarian ski bar could be a such a hilarious experience?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Also: This brunch at Gail’s Bakery in Barnes was soooo good. Anyone who knows me knows that you can always put me in a good mood no matter what with a decent cup of coffee! Shout out to the staff too who were very friendly. http://gailsbread.co.uk/bakeries/barnes/http://gailsbread.co.uk/bakeries/barnes/

Looking back at this trip has reminded me that it’s good to break your usual routine now and again and visit somewhere different. Whether that’s another country, city or even just a different coffee shop than usual, I encourage you to go somewhere different once in a while. Doing so can clear your head, lead you to meeting new people and at the very least trying some awesome new food, so what’s not to like!

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

 

I don’t believe in making New Year’s resolutions, however, this year I have promised myself that I will make the effort to take time off here and there to do little things like this and welcome new experiences more.

Leave a Reply

